Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) Courses

New Unarmed Private Security Professional Certification

DPSST Unarmed Security Professional Course is the state-required training you need prior to submitting your application to become a licensed Security Professional in the State of Oregon. The DPSST Unarmed Security course is a prerequisite for the DPSST Armed Security course. This is a 14-hour long course that is conducted over a 2 day period. The lecture portion includes topics on ethics, morals, and professionalism, how and when to notify public authorities, making citizens arrests, report writing, criminal law, civil law, use of force, and other legal considerations to assist the Security Professional on making good decisions. We also take a more in-depth approach to some of the more used functions that individuals will perform in the security industry. Such as: searches/pat-downs, identification checks, verbal de-escalation, situational awareness, and even service animals and laws pertaining to the ADA for the service industry. Students will then take the required 50 question closed book examination to test their knowledge of the course. Students are required to score at least 85% on the written examination. This course also includes a very in-depth section on report writing with many practical application exercises. 

Upon completion of the DPSST Unarmed Security Course students will be provided with a PS-1 application (initial private security application), and a PS-6 form (affidavit of training), that they can take to a prospective employer to be issued a PS-20 form (temporary work permit). We also include a fingerprinting card and all the directions to getting fingerprints completed. 

Required Gear: Valid form of Photo Identification, Pen, and Notepad

**Coming soon: Baton/OC/Handcuffing/Fake ID Verification Classes**

Renewal Unarmed Private Security Professional Certification

The DPSST Unarmed Refresher Course is a 4-hour long course that briefly goes over the

topics covered in the initial 14-hour DPSST Unarmed Security Professional Course. The course can be completed 180 days prior to the expiration of your current DPSST Unarmed certification. The DPSST Unarmed Refresher Course includes a lecture portion and a 20 question closed-book written examination. Students are required to score at least 85% on the written examination in order to successfully complete the course. 

During the lecture portion, we cover any new regulations and changes to DPSST policies and procedures, any updates to Oregon Revised Statutes, and Oregon Administrative Rules affecting security professionals. 

Upon completion of the DPSST Unarmed Refresher Course, students will be provided with a PS-6 (affidavit of training), which shows successful completion of the class. The PS-6 can be used to get a temporary work permit (PS-20) from your current employer if the individual’s security certification expires prior to receiving a new card in the mail from DPSST. In addition, each student is given the PS-21 Renewal Application. 

Required Gear: Valid form of Photo Identification, DPSST Private Security Certification Card, Pen, Notepad 

**Coming soon: Baton/OC/Handcuffing/Fake ID Verification Classes**

CONTACT US TODAY FOR ALL YOUR SECURITY NEEDS

Please feel free to call us during business hours • 503-395-4505